Vivien Pomfrey
BSc (Hons) (Open)
DipNatSci (Open)
MSc (Science) (Open)

Use the links below to view the pages of this site which make up my CV. To contact me -

 


Home

Unpaid Work

Academic Work

Additional Information



 

 

Personal interests/hobbies/dislikes

I cherish nature and animals, and enjoy comedy, current affairs, quizzes and board games, gardening, the countryside, the company of my cats, intelligent conversation, psychology, good vegan food and drink, finding bargains in charity shops and making things from waste (time and energy permitting!).

I dislike: cruelty, aggression, apathy, sloppy thinking, shallowness, bigotry and consumerism.

It has been my pleasure and privilege to share much of my life with a succession of cats, along with the mice, rats, voles, shrews, moles, rabbits, birds, amphibians, reptiles and insects which I have rescued from them and kept under observation prior to release.

 

Personal qualities: what I can offer

IF you can accommodate the problems arising from my disability (see below), if your cause is my cause, and if you value quality over speed, I may well be the person you are looking for.

I can offer:

  • Ability to see the bigger picture and make connections
  • Attention to detail
  • Commitment
  • Compassion
  • Computer literacy
  • Conscientiousness
  • Co-operation
  • Determination
  • Diplomacy
  • Discretion
  • Enthusiasm
  • Fairness
  • Friendliness (although shy with strangers)
  • Hard work
  • Helpfulness
  • Honesty
  • Humility
  • Humour
  • Imagination
  • Initiative
  • Innovation
  • Liaison and mediation skills
  • Logic
  • Open-mindedness
  • Organisational skills
  • Perseverance
  • Problem spotting and solving
  • Reliability
  • Resilience
  • Self-motivation
  • Tolerance


Types of work at which I am adept include:

  • Brainstorming ideas
  • Drafting questionnaires (e.g. for epidemiological research)
  • Finding and collating information from the Internet and other sources
  • Formulating arguments for campaigning purposes
  • Formulating scientific hypotheses and gathering evidence to test them
  • Producing scientific posters
  • Proof-reading and copy-editing
  • Reviewing research papers
  • Writing text for articles, factsheets and other literature

 

Memberships

  • Action for M.E.
  • Animal Aid
  • Greenpeace
  • The Green Party of England and Wales
  • The Vegan Society UK

..........................................

 

My disability

I have had myalgic encephalitis/chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS) since 1995 and do not expect to be cured.  My main symptoms are fatigue, muscle tension, concentration difficulty and chemical sensitivity, especially to chemicals in perfumed laundry products (and clothes washed in them) and in toiletries.  Like most sufferers I find the best coping strategy to be careful pacing of activities, and therefore work slowly and cannot meet tight deadlines.  I make up for my slowness by working longer hours.

Due to the above problems, home-based work with a reasonable degree of flexibility is easiest for me.  My concentration problems mean that I cannot carry out public speaking or live debate.

Plant sales

In addition to my research and writing work I sell plants on eBay and eBid, specialising in naturally-grown plants, including trees, herbs, garden flowers and native wild British species. My eBay page is here and my eBid page is here. I am also happy to sell direct to enquirers. More on my plant sales here.

| top |

 

 


| Home | Unpaid Work | Academic Work | Additional Information |

Website designed and maintained by John Deadman